top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturean lyn

My Spotlight Interview for STYLEFAV

Big thanks to Stylefav for featuring me on their blog! View the original article here.



TWO WORDS THAT DESCRIBE YOU.


Sociable and driven!


WHAT IS YOUR PERSONAL DEFINITION OF FASHION? Fashion to me is a form of self-expression, a means to celebrate your individuality. In more profound terms it is art, and the best part about art is that there are no boundaries to what you can create.


WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE FASHION ICON AND WHY? Harry Styles without a doubt! I love how he so genuinely expresses himself with his fashion, not letting any particular style define him. His style is always changing, he’s always open to experimentation and I love that he isn’t afraid to stray away from gender norms. Harry is truly one of the greatest fashion icons of our generation.


HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE? I don’t think there’s any one way to describe it because I love experimenting and jumping between styles. I do love bold colours, loud prints and unique silhouettes. But I guess generally my style is more street chic.


DO YOU HAVE ANY RULES WHEN PUTTING AN OUTFIT TOGETHER? I don’t have any rules, they’re more of preferences in clothing and colour haha. But if there’s one rule I follow it’s never to be underdressed for an occasion. And to avoid Crocs at all costs! Ahaha


IF YOU COULD CREATE A CAPSULE COLLECTION OF 6 PIECES WHAT PIECES WOULD BE IN YOUR COLLECTION AND WHY? I’m no fashion designer but these would probably be in my collection!

1. Pantsuit set, either printed or in bold colours (because I love a confident outfit yas) 2. Knee-high boots! (They make anything look sexy) 3. Some type of extravagant gown (I love avant-garde) 4. Maybe a one-piece like a jumpsuit or a romper for casual wear 5. A really cool statement jacket (honestly I’m just making these up as I go along) 6. Graphic or printed tee for comfort



DO YOU HAVE A CREATIVE PROCESS WHEN IT COMES TO CREATING YOUR CONTENT? I do! For the lookbooks I put out, I usually begin by brainstorming for unique concepts. Then I dig around my wardrobe to see how I can mix and match my clothes to create the looks that I’m going for. At the same time, I’ll think about the production team, scroll through Instagram or look through my contacts to get in touch with photographers, makeup artist and model(s) who fit the aesthetic I’m going for. There’s a lot of planning that goes on behind the scenes, like deciding which pieces look best together, who models which outfit, how to accessorise the outfits, which location or background to shoot them with, etc.


WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE THING ABOUT CREATING CONTENT? I think the best thing is seeing your work come together, and being able to share it with everyone. Who knows, you might inspire someone else to do something great! Another amazing thing is being able to meet and work with so many talented individuals who are also hustling hard to create their own art.

TO FASHION CREATIVES NOW STARTING OUT WHAT EQUIPMENT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO THEM? (E.G. CAMERAS, EDITING APPS AND PLATFORMS ETC.) Your best ‘equipment’ is your networking skills. Seriously! I wouldn’t be where I am today without the help of all the generous creatives I’ve met and worked with. Take every opportunity you can get and get to know the people around you. The creative industry may involve a lot of free work, but you can learn so much and open up many doors for yourself in the future if you play your cards right.


WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST ADVENTURE THUS FAR? Wow honestly the past two years for me has been an incredible adventure. Everything happened so fast! Suddenly I was creating lookbooks, styling actual clients, modelling for various brands and even walking runways. I can’t put my finger on a single greatest adventure, but I guess my proudest achievement was when I walked the runway for the Jo Kilda x Jaguar 2019 fashion show.


WHAT IS THE BEST ADVICE YOU’VE BEEN GIVEN? Never settle – a little something my boss told me when I was working at Covetella. To be fair she was talking about relationships, but I apply it to my work because, in order to take pride in something, you have to give your all. That’s how great art is made.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page