top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturean lyn

Everyone Here Sounds Like Ed Sheeran: A Brief Guide to London

Late last year I had the privilege of travelling to various parts of Europe again for the first time in years. Admittedly, the last time I'd been to Europe was when I was a toddler and I can barely recall anything from that experience. This time around though, my European trip would be hard to forget.


The journey starts in London, England and the first thing that popped into my mind upon arriving was "Everyone here sounds like Ed Sheeran," (of course I meant his accent, no one was singing). My next thought was "Hey if I exhale though my mouth it's looks as if I'm smoking". Of course, not the most intelligent things you could ponder about upon your arrival in such a posh city, but in my defence I had just gotten off a 3 hour flight with minimal sleep.


Instead of bunking in the heart the city, we stayed in Ilford - a large town in east London. A little tip for travellers: avoid staying in central areas of cities as hotel prices can be sky-rocketing. Moreover, London traffic can be a pain in the neck on weekdays especially during peak hours, so it is better to plan your stay and modes of transportation wisely.


The jet lag was fairly easy to overcome, so at the break of dawn the next day we drove to the city centre for breakfast at Coppa Club.



Now, if you're a wannabe Instagram/Travel/Fashion Influencer like me, this is not a photo opp you want to miss. If you plan on dining at the restaurant, definitely get a table in Coppa's iconic igloos. With a heated and cozy interior overlooking the River Thames and Tower Bridge, it is the best seating area for brunch or breakfast on a rainy morning.








The interior design of the igloos changes with the seasons, providing a great dining experience any time of the year. Unfortunately, there are only about 6 or 7 igloos (seating a majority of 8 persons at a time) and tables fill up rather quickly, so be sure to secure your spot by making a reservation at least a month in advance.



And now a quick review of the food: Delicious. This is not an exaggeration. A full english breakfast, pancakes topped with berries and syrup, and chocolate croissants served with the best Chai Latte I've ever tasted. Need I say more?



Westminster Abbey

A visit to the Tower of London afterwards may be a good idea due to its close proximity to the restaurant. If you're looking to learn about Englands history, their past monarchs and the crown jewels, this is the best (if not the only) place to visit. Other historical and monumental places to visit include Westminster Abbey, Big Ben (which unfortunately was still under construction) and Buckingham Palace (you'd want to catch the changing of guards ceremony every 11a.m.).






Buckingham Palace


Soho

If you're looking to immerse yourself in the bustling streets of London, Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square and Soho are some locations you must visit. Rife with buskers and live musicians, - and even Christmas Carollers - these spots made me reminiscent of New York City. The Christmas Market at Leicester square making the atmosphere all the more festive. Of course, a trip to London isn't a trip to London without a shot of yourself with the iconic red telephone booths which are scattered throughout the city.









~~~




I love a good cafe and ever since I read about Saint Aymes online I had been dying to go. The floral themed cafe is decorated with bouquets of brightly coloured blossoms all year around and stands out against the other shops on the corner of 59 Connaught Street. The origination of floral-themed design by the Wilson sisters is simply heartwarming, they believe that beauty can and should exist in our everyday lives without having a reason to. They even provide interior design services!






Dining here made me reminiscent of the tea parties my sister and I used to have when we were kids, except with a bit more flair and with teacups that weren't made out of cushion. After gushing over the cafe's interior we proceeded to order their signature drink, a 24ct gold Unicorn Latte (available in pink, lilac and blue) and a 24ct gold Marie Antoinette Milkshake, as well as pancakes and scones.



Honestly, I'm practically jumping in my seat as I type this. Out of all the cafe's I've been to this is by far my favourite and I hope everyone who's interested will get the chance to visit someday.


So! That about sums up my trip to London, my apologies if I couldn't provide detailed information since I'm recalling all of this from memory. But trust me when I say that London is truly spectacular, I wouldn't hesitate to go back for another visit. So the next time you find yourself in The Old Smoke, I hope you'll look back on this post and find it useful. That's it for now, but stay tuned, I will be posting more of my travels very soon!


an lyn xx

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page